I hours in the field operating total stations,

I am writing to apply for the
position at JL Richards & Associates Ltd, for a four-month work term. I am
currently in my second year of the Environmental Engineering program at the
University of Waterloo. My relevant work experience includes four months at the
University of Waterloo as a Hydraulic Technician, and four months at LAS as a laboratory


As a Hydraulic Technician, I
worked closely with lab technicians to gather hydrological field data, survey
construction sites, calibrate and organize labs, and maintain technical
equipment. In particular, I spent over 60 hours in the field operating total
stations, GPS surveying tools, and testing for dissolved ions in urban streams.
I also created a small-scale model of an urban stream built to manage storm
water. During this time at the university, I used Microsoft Office extensively,
performed many safety audits for equipment and labs around the department, and
became comfortable driving different types of vehicles. I also have an G-level driver’s

We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now


While working as a laboratory
worker for LAS, I familiarized myself with several skills and processes needed
to work in the environment, included mixing chemicals, following strict safety
regulations, and using lab equipment. I compiled, analyzed, and presented on
large amounts of data. Due to the location of the job in the Swiss Alps, I also
gained experience in collecting a variety of different types of natural data,
and became very interested in hydrological processes, especially in


I am a very eager and enthusiastic
learner, and feel responsible for my own educational advancement. In my first
years of university, I have developed skills such as AutoCAD, MATLAB, and
professional communication through emails, presentations, and leadership roles.
In my second term, I performed many different soil analyses, and took a course
dedicated to Environmental Assessments. I also took a strong interest in the
labs, such as fluid analysis, and learning on-site surveying techniques. I love
working outside, and enjoy performing any type of field work. I am bilingual in
German and English and practiced French at school for nine years.  


I'm Alfred!

Would you like to get a custom essay? How about receiving a customized one?

Check it out